Covid-19 advice and information - keep us informed about local cases in football


Following the announcement of a nationwide lockdown (from Tuesday 5 January 2021) The FA has announced the suspension of non-elite football:


An update for ‘non-elite’ football in England following latest COVID-19 restrictions


We note the UK Government’s announcement this evening with regards to the new national COVID-19 restrictions and lockdown. As a result, the impact on ‘non elite’ football in England will include the suspension of fixtures and training across the following, with immediate effect:


  • Steps three to six of the National League System (NLS)
  • Tiers three to seven of the Women’s Football Pyramid
  • Regional NLS feeder leagues
  • Barclays FA WSL Academy League (unless under elite status)
  • FA Girls Regional Talent Clubs (unless under elite status)
  • All indoor and outdoor youth and adult grassroots football, including under 18s (except organised outdoor football for disabled people which is allowed to continue)
  • Vitality Women’s FA Cup (which is currently classified as ‘non-elite’ at this stage in the competition)


It is extremely important that clubs, players, coaches, match officials, league officials, volunteers, parents, carers and facility providers adhere to the UK Government’s new national COVID-19 lockdown restrictions and we implore everyone to follow these.

Dialogue will continue with the Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport, leagues, competitions and County FAs and we will provide further updates for the 2020/21 Vitality Women’s FA Cup, Buildbase FA Vase and ‘non-elite’ football when relevant.

We would like to thank the football community once again for its hard work, resilience and understanding during such an incredibly challenging period for both the game and wider society.

Further questions? Read the FAQs from The FA here.


 Following the announcement that the North East will be in Tier 4 from 31 December 2020, please note that all adult grassroots football is suspended. Read the details here:


Please also note that travel BETWEEN different Tier 4 areas is not permitted. The North East is currently split into 3 separate Tier 4 areas: 

  • North East Combined Authority (this area includes the local authorities of County Durham, Gateshead, South Tyneside and Sunderland) (will be moving to Tier 4 from Thursday 31 December)
  • North of Tyne Combined Authority (this area includes the local authorities of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside and Northumberland) (will be moving to Tier 4 from Thursday 31 December)
  • Tees Valley Combined Authority (this area includes the local authorities of Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, and Stockton-on-Tees) (will be moving to Tier 4 from Thursday 31 December)

 Travel into and out of tier 4 areas is not permitted, this applies in youth and disability football. Each bullet point listed above is defined as a tier area. You must not travel from one tier 4 area into another tier 4 area.

Therefore, for example, a team or participant would not be able to travel from Gateshead to play or train in Newcastle upon Tyne and vice versa. Read the full details here:



Following the end of the national lockdown on December 2, football activity can resume.

Read the new guidance from The FA and the Government here:

 And download the FAQs here:  Return to Football FAQs



Clarification on travel in and between Tier 3 areas here:



Signage that clubs can download and use in their own facilities are available here:


Update on a limited return of home spectators for non-elite football clubs in Tier 3





QR codes have been introduced by the Government and you must download one for your venue.


Find out how the regulations apply to football with our FAQs here.



Advice from Northumberland FA and Public Health England on what to do if a player tests positive for Covid-19


Click here