Northumberland FA Name Six Local Award Winners

Northumberland FA has proudly selected six local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards for 2018.

The Grassroots Football Awards recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community.

Following a record receipt of 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across 10 categories.

Northumberland FA’s 2018 Grassroots Football Awards winners are:

• Coach of the Year: Michael Third (Bedlington FC)
• Community Project of the Year: Cramlington United
• Charter Standard Club of the Year: Cramlington United
• Match Official of the Year: Callum Inwood
• Volunteer of the Year: Sean Hamilton (Wylam Rockets)
• Youth Volunteer of the Year: Joey Harries (Cramlington United)

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game.

"The selection of winners chosen alongside Northumberland FA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."

Ian Skinner, Football Development Officer (Youth Male) for Northumberland FA, added: “We are fortunate to have so many fantastic clubs and volunteers who help us strive towards providing footballing opportunities for young players.

“We know how much work goes into football on a weekly basis and these awards allow us to say thank you to those who dedicate so much time to the game across Northumberland FA. We wish them all the best for the next stage of the awards - hopefully they can go all the way and pick up a national award later in the month.”

On Monday 9 July, The FA’s national panel will meet to select national winners from the pool of County FA recipients and they will be formally announced at the 2018 FA Community Shield Final on Sunday 5 August.