Grassroots Awards

Nominations now open for this seasons Grassroots Awards

Nominate the individuals and groups that have made a difference to grassroots football over the past 12 months

 The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards are for people who make a positive difference. It’s our way to celebrate the fantastic individuals who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across England – and say a huge thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us all.

This season our Grassroots volunteers have adapted to the ever-changing Coronavirus pandemic. They responded quickly to make football happen when they could. And when they couldn’t play they kept players, volunteers and the wider community connected off the pitch.

They demonstrated the true power of football, they stuck together, helped each other across teams, across clubs and showed what the football community could do when faced with uncertainty and an unparalleled situation.

Your nomination is going to mean so much to the person receiving it. They are going to be a winner in the eyes of their peers or players. 

 How the awards work

The awards are split into categories, anybody can nominate people into the category through the online nomination portal. County FAs select a local winner for each from the public’s nominations. These form a shortlist for our national winners, selected by a national judging panel.


The categories

Coach of the Year for adults                                              Project of the Year

Coach of the  Year for youth                                              Rising Star of the Year

Club of the Year                                                                 Match official of the Year           

League of the Year                                                             Grounds Team of the Year

Volunteer of the Year                                                          The Spirit of Grassroots Football Award


Nominate now:


Further category information link to:


Key dates

16 March:         Nomination opens

4 May:             Nominations close

8 June: National Panel – national winners selected

National ceremony TBC